Remain Undisturbed

The actions of the other disturbs us.  The normal approach is to try to change the behaviour of the other. Rather than changing the other, a more effective approach is to recognize that we have the freedom to remain undisturbed.

In meditation, the other is the greatest gift. Each outer disturbance opens the doorway to the within. Ask yourself, Why am I disturbed? For example, one of my friends is a talkative type. She loves an opportunity to use her mouth. I am the opposite. Rather than spend an hour passing information on a phone tree, I think she should take two minutes and send out a group text. In other words, I am disturbed.

The reality is that she loves the opportunity to talk. And any effort I make to change her is an effort to restrain her freedom and her joy. I have the freedom to watch what is happening inside me. Or more exactly, I have the freedom to remain undisturbed.

Leave a Reply

